Too Cold to Feel

Standard

I am far too cold, to feel my heart beat;

too cold to speak, too cold to breathe-

I am almost frozen solid, all of my bones, and-

let me tell you, I’m almost like stone-

For a man in the cold, feels nothing at all,

like a dead man’s pulse, taken from his frozen arm-

There was a woman once, to me, I once knew;

she had a body formed as gold;

she was priceless, I tell you-

but a man giving up, gives up his soul;

an invisible heart beating in a chest that’s a hole-

and my arms, too cold to hug, and eyes too cold to realize-

That I am too cold to feel, yet just warm enough, to die…

Copyrightcopyright July 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

